About me


YoukGroup_2012-18
My name is Maria G., and I’ve been an EFL teacher for over fifteen years. I was born in Brescia, a city in the north of Italy, but moved to London when I was still a teenager. After studying Social Anthropology & Development, I travelled first to Spain and then to Guatemala where I spent a year working for a local NGO. Later on, I returned to London and completed a MSc in Development Studies, while working in a community centre for migrants and refugees. It was then that I developed an interest in linguistics and language teaching. I decided therefore to take the CELTA (Certificate in Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages) and started to teach adults. After that I met Guillermo, my husband, who is originally from Argentina, and chose to move back to my hometown.
Since then I’ve mostly been working in Brescia and been teaching General English, Business English, Exam classes (PET, FCE, BEC), as well as private lessons and one-to-one tutoring.
Last summer I took the CELTYL (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Young Learners), and consequently I was offered a teaching position in a local vocational training centre. Up to the present moment, I find this experience of working with teenagers pretty challenging and stimulating.
Over the years I’ve met and helped extraordinary people, and I’m really proud of what we’ve accomplished together.
When I’m not working I like to travel (mainly to South America), read and go swimming. And I’m also always interested in meeting new people and listening to them.

Please find more information at  Linkedin

images

One thought on “About me

Leave a Reply